It all makes sense now…

Today was the day they said things that finally made sense.  My son, 9 years old, bright eyed, intelligent, self deprecating, and moody should be tested for autism spectrum disorder.  For years, since he was a toddler he’s always been “different”.  I obviously don’t use that term with him but facts are facts, he’s not like other boys his age and never has been.  He’s particular, he’s fearless, he’s a concrete thinker he’s overly emotional and my gawddd can be throw one hell of a fit.  He loves and hates so passionately.  BUT he’s mine and I’m determined to help him no matter the cost.  

Today May 3rd, 2016 he was given a consequence and he was so frustrated he went into his room and destroyed it.  He hated that we’ve implemented and are sticking to these rewards and consequences.  Today for the first time in who knows how long he reasoned or tried to reason with the outcome of his actions.  Today he cautiously accepted his consequence, apologized and asked for ways to earn rewards to negate his consequence.  We are working to turn a page and I feel confident it starts with me.  With my ability to stick to consequences to work on my frustration and to keep pushing forward…

Please wish me luck, say a prayer, do whatever you do to encourage families like mine to stay strong and keep moving forward.

Leave a Reply

